Posted in kids, school, Study

Writing About Stuff

Nov. 7, 2016

This post is going to ultimately just describe my writing experience. I am currently (attempting to) write a book. I am experiencing a lot of new feelings and ideas on this authorial process, now, so I just wanted to describe my writing journey, and why I love it so much. 

Before I even started to enjoy writing, I was quite the avid reader. I believe I was around the age of 3 or 4 when I started to read, which is actually younger than the average 4-7. It’s not too much of a difference, but I’m sure it helped. Reading has been one of the best things to ever occur in my life, for it has helped me so much. I talk about this and much more in my “How To Become A Better Writer” post.

I was reading some pretty advanced stuff. I started Harry Potter the summer after first grade, and that was pretty good. I ended up reading the entire series around 3 or 4 times more, just for fun. I also read the hunger games in second or third grade. I can’t really remember.

It was fourth grade where my writing truly flourished. Sure, third grade was ok, but I specifically remember fourth grade as the true catalyst. We would write stories as a class, and I remember always going up to read mine out loud. I always got positive feedback, so that kind of boosted my morale and made me want to keep trying.

In fifth grade, we wrote a lot. I think that was one of the best years, because the teacher I had really let us experiment. As a class we’d write plays, and it was super fun. But we also wrote stories, and that was so fun. I would always read mine aloud, and when I would finish, there would be a pause of absolute silence. Then after that moment, my classmates would clap for me and tell me how good the piece was. I loved it.

Also in fifth grade, I won an essay writing contest.  I don’t know if a lot of American schools do this, but my school had a program about safety and how to handle yourself outside of school and home. You would start the program in first grade, and then finish in fifth.  On your last year, you had to write an essay about what you learned and why it was a valuable course. It was pretty standard essay writing, and I ended up winning for my homeroom. It was cool; I got to read my piece in front of all of the parents and kids.

In sixth grade, there wasn’t too much writing for the fun of it, but we did have journals. Every Friday or so we’d have to write a short little blurb about a certain topic or idea. It just helped to get the creative juices flowing, and I had a few pretty good ones.


Now I’m writing, or at least trying to write, a book. I’m not giving anything away, except for the fact that it is based on one of the ideas from my post “Story Ideas I Wish Were Written Already“. Can you guess what it is?

Comment down below which idea you think it is, and maybe I’ll give you another hint! Make sure to hit that follow button and comment any questions, suggestions, or concerns.

 

3 thoughts on “Writing About Stuff

Leave a Reply

